You know, I swore an oath that I still honor today and take seriously – why am I a radical?

20120414-180213.jpgI first swore this oath in 1978 as a 17 year old kid still in high school – Jimmy Carter was President. Four months later I was in Boot Camp learning what that oath meant;

§ 502. Enlistment oath: who may administer
(a) Enlistment Oath.— Each person enlisting in an armed force shall take the following oath:
“I, XXXXXXXXXX, do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; and that I will obey the orders of the President of the United States and the orders of the officers appointed over me, according to regulations and the Uniform Code of Military Justice. So help me God.”
(b) Who May Administer.— The oath may be taken before the President, the Vice-President, the Secretary of Defense, any commissioned officer, or any other person designated under regulations prescribed by the Secretary of Defense.

Read those words again:

“I, _____, do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; and that I will obey the orders of the President of the United States and the orders of the officers appointed over me, according to regulations and the Uniform Code of Military Justice. So help me God.” (Title 10, US Code; Act of 5 May 1960 replacing the wording first adopted in 1789, with amendment effective 5 October 1962).

The Oath of Office for federal officials isn’t that much different;

I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; and that I will well and faithfully discharge the duties of the office on which I am about to enter: So help me God.

I am a conservative – I believe in the concepts that led to the writing of the US Constitution, and in the words that were eventually accepted and confirmed as the rule of law of the United States of America. I took that oath believing that someday I could be called to give my life defending my country and its Constitution.

How is it that Democrats who take virtually the same oath as I did as a 17 year old can do so callously and without regard to the words they read, out loud, and swore before almighty God?

I just don’t get it;

In October 2009, House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, astounded by the apparent irrelevance of a reporter’s question about the constitutionality of Obamacare, spoke the words that ricocheted off the Constitution and then around the world:

CNSNews.com: “Madam Speaker, where specifically does the Constitution grant Congress the authority to enact an individual health insurance mandate?”

Pelosi: “Are you serious? Are you serious?”

CNSNews.com: “Yes, yes I am.”

Pelosi then shook her head before taking a question from another reporter. Her press spokesman, Nadeam Elshami, then told CNSNews.com that asking the speaker of the House where the Constitution authorized Congress to mandate that individual Americans buy health insurance as not a “serious question.”

“You can put this on the record,” said Elshami. “That is not a serious question. That is not a serious question.”

Yes, Nancy, that was a serious question, a question that today I ask of you and every Democrat, including the President of the United States and all his appointed civilian officers: Why to you not take your oath of office seriously? Is it because there are no consequences?

There had better be consequences to this trashing of our constitution. This November.

Consequences. There WILL be consequences.

Will it be We the People who fail our nation and fail to oust this regime?

Crossposted to Unified Patriots

About Erick Brockway

Living in Camarillo, CA, about 45 miles North of LA. I have a son, and two daughters. Working two jobs (welcome to California life), plus a (now retired) reservist in the US Navy Seabees so life is busy!
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You know, I swore an oath that I still honor today and take seriously – why am I a radical?

  1. Pingback: You know, I swore an oath that I still honor today and take seriously – why am I a radical?

  2. Pingback: Pelosi: Amend the First Amendment | CNSNews.com « News You May Have Missed

Comments are closed.