“On The Twelfth Day of Christmas” (1955)

I saw a YouTube video which explained the song “The Twelve Days of Christmas” is actually a song from England in the 1500-1600s when practicing Catholicism was banned in Great Britain. I hadn’t heard that, so I went looking and while the jury is out on that one, I did find a clip from a short comedy film made in England in 1955 called “On the Twelfth Day”, showing what chaos would ensue if someone did try to give all the song lists as gifts.

I always wondered when I was a kid who’d even want a bunch of “leaping lords”, although the “maids a milking” held a certain…allure…

About Erick Brockway

Living in Camarillo, CA, about 45 miles North of LA. I have a son, and two daughters. Working two jobs (welcome to California life), plus a (now retired) reservist in the US Navy Seabees so life is busy!
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.