Today I learned a great man died. A family man in a dangerous profession. His son made a video for him in tribute.

This video was made by his son, who misses him very much…

Via Blackfive

You may have thought at the outset I was talking about this man. You see, Dan Wheldon died today, too. He was also a family man in a dangerous line of work, he was a race car driver.

It’s a weird world, I learned last night of the death of Brian Cowdrey, a US Army medic who as a matter of routine put his life on the line for not only his friends, but wounded enemies as well.

Today I saw the death of another during a televised race on ABC.

One guy’s death will probably go relatively unnoticed compared to the other man’s, Dan Wheldon won the Indy 500 twice, most recently this year. The other man, Brian Cowdrey quite possibly lost count of the number of lives he saved in battle in Afghanistan.

Both deaths left me feeling empty inside, yet I knew nothing of either man yesterday; I don’t follow racing and the Army is a big place.

I just hope somehow both can be remembered.

20111016-185329.jpg

About Erick Brockway

Living in Camarillo, CA, about 45 miles North of LA. I have a son, and two daughters. Working two jobs (welcome to California life), plus a (now retired) reservist in the US Navy Seabees so life is busy!
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today I learned a great man died. A family man in a dangerous profession. His son made a video for him in tribute.

  1. Brat says:

    I had never heard of Dan Wheldon, but I can tell you that MANY – even outside the US – have heard of SSG Cowdrey. HE will always be remembered and honored as an American Hero, who gave his life as he was saving others, in service to America.

    • Erick Brockway says:

      That’s a trip, I never heard of Wheldon either till yesterday. Just seemed with men and women dying nearly every day some perspective was in order.

Comments are closed.